AMD eyes Ryzen 7000 at Gamescom 2022

AMD eyes Gamescom 2022 Ryzen 7000 “Zen 4” and AM5 platform announcements

AMD has comfirmed They’ll be at Gamescom this year, and it looks like we’ll finally have an official Ryzen 7000 “Zen 4” and AM5 announcement during the event.

AMD unveils hints for Ryzen 7000 “Zen 4” CPUs and AM5 platform at Gamescom 2022

We previously revealed the date AMD will announce its Ryzen 7000 “Zen 4” desktop CPU lineup and corresponding AM5 motherboard platform. According to the official NDA, AMD plans to reveal the full details on August 29th at 8pm ET, which fits nicely with the event itself, which will take place between August 23rd and 28th.

Based on the information we have, it looks like AMD will hold a product launch event later this month that will focus on specs and pricing for its Ryzen 7000 “Raphael” lineup, and will also allow motherboard makers to announce their preliminary prices. plate. As far as this event goes, it’s on August 29, but you won’t be able to buy a Ryzen 7000 CPU until two weeks later.

The embargo on reviews of AMD Ryzen 7000 desktop CPUs and X670 motherboards will be lifted two weeks later on September 13, followed by full retail availability on September 15. Summary Date:

  • Product announcement: August 29, 2022 8:00 PM ET / August 30, 2022 2:00 AM CET / 8:00 AM Taiwan Time
  • Press embargo: September 13, 2022 9AM ET/3PM CET/9PM Taiwan
  • Sales embargo: September 15, 2022 9AM ET/3PM CET/9PM Taiwan

According to previous leaks from AMD, four SKUs will be available at the start, including:

  • AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
  • AMD Ryzen 9 7900X
  • AMD Ryzen 7 7700X
  • AMD Ryzen 5 7600X

AMD Ryzen 7000 “Raphael” desktop CPU “preliminary” specs:

processor name architecture process node core/thread Core Clock (SC Max) cache TDP price
AMD Ryzen 9 7950X Zen 4 5nm 16/32 ~5.5 GHz 80MB (64+16) 105-170W about $700
AMD Ryzen 9 7900X Zen 4 5nm 12/24 ~5.4 GHz 76MB (64+12) 105-170W about $600
AMD Ryzen 7 7800X Zen 4 5nm 8/16 ~5.3 GHz 40MB (32+8) 65-125W about $400
AMD Ryzen 7 7700X Zen 4 5nm 8/16 ~5.3 GHz 40MB (32+8) 65-125W about $300
AMD Ryzen 5 7600X Zen 4 5nm 6/12 ~5.2 GHz 38MB (32+6) 65-125W about $200

AMD’s first wave of 600-series motherboards will focus on the higher-end X670E and X670 designs, with the B650E and B650 products coming in a few weeks (around October/November). The new CPU will use the new Zen 4 core architecture, which is expected to increase IPC by up to 8%, ST (single thread) > 15%, and MT (multi-thread) performance by > 35% compared to the Zen 3 core. Its next-gen CPUs have crazy clock speeds, with frequency limits up to 5.8 GHz, 170W TDP and 230W PPT. Additionally, the platform itself will be equipped with the latest technologies such as PCIe Gen 5.0 slots, Gen 5.0 M.2 support, DDR5 memory support (EXPO), and a new SAS (Intelligent Access Storage) firmware suite framework running on the DirectStorage API.

AMD Ryzen ‘Zen 4’ Desktop CPU Expected Features:

  • Up to 16 Zen 4 cores and 32 threads
  • Over 15% performance improvement for single-threaded applications
  • New Zen 4 CPU cores (IPC/architectural improvements)
  • New TSMC 5nm process node, 6nm IOD
  • 25% more performance per watt compared to Zen 3
  • Overall performance improvement >35% compared to Zen 3
  • 8-10% higher instructions per clock (IPC) compared to Zen 3
  • Supports AM5 platform with LGA1718 socket
  • New X670E, X670, B650E, B650 Motherboards
  • Dual-channel DDR5 memory support
  • Up to DDR5-5600 native (JEDEC) speeds
  • 28 PCIe lanes (CPU dedicated)
  • 105-120W TDP (upper range ~170W)

You can find full details on AMD’s next-generation Ryzen 7000 desktop CPUs and corresponding 600-series motherboards in our full roundup of the next-gen series.

AMD mainstream desktop CPU generation comparison:

AMD CPU series code name processor process Processor cores/threads (max) TDP (max) platform Platform Chipset memory support PCIe support emission
Ryzen 1000 pinnacle ridge 14nm (Zen 1) 8/16 95W AM4 300 series DDR4-2677 Generation 3.0 2017
Ryzen 2000 pinnacle ridge 12nm (Zen+) 8/16 105W AM4 400 series DDR4-2933 Generation 3.0 2018
Ryzen 3000 Matisse 7nm (Zen 2) 16/32 105W AM4 500 series DDR4-3200 Generation 4.0 2019
Ryzen 5000 Vermeer 7nm (Zen 3) 16/32 105W AM4 500 series DDR4-3200 Generation 4.0 2020
Ryzen 5000 3D Warhol? 7nm (Zen 3D) 8/16 105W AM4 500 series DDR4-3200 Generation 4.0 2022
Ryzen 7000 Raphael 5nm (Zen 4) 16/32 170W AM5 600 series DDR5-5200/5600? Generation 5.0 2022
Ryzen 7000 3D Raphael 5nm (Zen 4) 16/32? 105-170W AM5 600 series DDR5-5200/5600? Generation 5.0 2023
Ryzen 8000 Granite Ridge 3nm (Zen 5)? pending pending AM5 700 series? DDR5-5600+ Generation 5.0 2024-2025?

Which AMD Ryzen 7000 desktop CPU are you most interested in?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.